Found objects: there’s a Fortune in the Junkpile!

Remember that book from the 1970’s, when runaway inflation, oil drama’s and OPEC maneuvering were every day news? COINTELPRO, and MKULTRA-and tricky Dick’s everywhere! And the residue of unpopular wars–an era when people actually had a say in how wars were run!

Ahh, tricky Dickie. Richard Nixon….they sure figured out a good way to make sure that Dicks loss could never happen again.

They improved the population, with eugenics! Now, we have MORE people who will push the button EVERY TIME!

Yay! Go Team America! The Great American Experiment!

It seems that the 1970’s have repeated themselves in so many ways. For me, I like to folow up where the 70’s left off in other ways–LIke Woodward and the Berenstain bears.

And, finding fortunes in junk-piles of data, and other things that need a good look.

And, garbage piles are valuable too.

Here are a few finds from just the last few weeks:

DSC00564

Treasure, in the trash! Silver rings?(someone in the breedbasket that is Mamasota tossed his lady loves possessions to the curb–a Claddagh ring! Turquoise?? NO one throws that stuff away, unless that lady love was a real dog, or just another Mamasota baby basket, devoid of personality, and ever willing to entrap a fellah into the state eugenics scheme) A boiler key? Cool. And a meteorite chunk??? YES! a chunk of a meteorite, found in the dirt. It is likely part of MArs, or another world that is better than this one. MArs, the war god, seldom loses things, so this meteorite chunk is probably really valuable to someone. Oh–and I found lots of trash on the internet, too.

And, no amount of found objects has any value to me, compared to what I have found in the last decades in other places.

So, there is this other experiment–it’s called the Stanford Prison Experiment, and that experiment is all about torture. However, when Phil Zimbardo first conceived of the experiment, it was theoretically an experiment about authority.

Recently, he has sought to figure out

Why Do Good People Do Bad Things?

 

Well, I know nothing about that–I am not a good person. I have never been a good person. I am according to all of the literature on the subject, a bad and defective person.

Which, is alright by me. Most of my hero’s are bad people too. Really, I don’t even know any good people, that is how bad I am.

I even smell bad, really. REmember the days when old men basicaly lived in garages, built weird things, and smelled like a combination of sawdust, diese feul, cigarette smoke; gasoline and sweat–acrid sweat from several ays of sweat?

Yeah–that’s me. And its even worse when I have gas. Well, you get the picture–I am NOT a good person, never was. I was always a throwaway person, worse than garbage.

Why? Many reasons, probably, but the top two?

1) The Milgram experiment.

2) The Stanford Prison Experiment

In both of those experiments, all of those imbued with the authority to do the right thing, in fact, did not, because the culture of authority breeds into itself a sort of armor that is impervious to insight, oversight, or hindsight.

And me?

I am a bad bad person, and so, I hope this helps al the good peope understand why

1) I have NEVER pushed the button

2) I would make a lousy prison guard

3) I laugh, every time I watch old videos like the one about the Milgram experiment, when I hear the fake screams of the ‘subject’ and see the look on the face of the button pusher, who pushes the button, every time they are told to.

Fake screaming is sooooo funny, funny funny. I could watch that for YEARS, if not decades, and laugh, every time, and never ever change my behaviour, or alert others to the fact that something bad was going on.

4) I laugh the hardest when I realize that experiments like these were funded, subsidized by, and carefully observed by The CIA, the FBI, and every other agency who eventually used these experiments to engineer a society of button pushers who fear, and then, adulate authority to the point that they are all good, together, pushing buttons.

HAHAHAHAHA.

Authority for authorities sake.

Innocence is guilt; guilt is being a good guy.

====================================================

About Philip Zimbardo

Philip Zimbardo was the leader of the notorious 1971 Stanford Prison Experiment — and an expert witness at Abu Ghraib. His book The Lucifer Effect explores the nature of evil; now, in his new work, he studies the nature of heroism. Philip Zimbardo knows what evil looks like. After serving as an expert witness during the Abu Ghraib trials, he wrote The Lucifer Effect: Understanding How Good People Turn Evil. From Nazi comic books to the tactics of used-car salesmen, he explores a wealth of sources in trying to explain the psychology of evil.

Stanford Experiment: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanford_prison_experiment

Audio of Zimbardo’s TED talk/NPR coverage: http://www.npr.org/2013/05/31/175610004/why-do-good-people-do-bad-things

Leave a Reply

